California Commercial Truck Driving Rules

When you’re on the road every day with heavy 18-wheelers, it’s hard not to wonder if they have to follow the same rules as the rest of us. It’s especially worrying when you see these semi-trucks veering into other lanes, driving way too fast, or otherwise breaking the law.

However, these truckers are subject to many of the same rules as other drivers, among other rules. They’re expected to take certain care because of their trucks, so you should be able to drive without fear on the road. When they follow the required laws, you shouldn’t have to worry about a dangerous driver.

Truck Driving Licenses

When someone decides to drive for a living, they’re usually expected to pass certain tests and complete certain training before they’re able to do so. You’re expected to be especially qualified for your job, so why shouldn’t they be?

That means that every truck driver you see on the road should have their Commercial Driver License, or CDL. This license means that they’re qualified to drive these massive trucks. If they don’t have this license, then they shouldn’t be behind the wheel of a semi-truck. Since a tractor trailer is so difficult to handle, especially in emergency situations, it’s vital that they’re prepared.

Staying Safe on the Highway

When they’re on the road, truck drivers are supposed to be especially aware of the people around them and the current situation. If they’re not, things can turn deadly. These 18-wheelers are several times larger than most of the cars around them, so an accident can be devastating.

As such, they’re subjected to certain restrictions that other people may not be. For example, it’s recommended that you take a break every three hours or so, but these are suggestions for the average driver, not rules. Truck drivers, however, are usually required to take breaks every four to five hours.

They’ll also be expected to be far soberer on the road. In California, drivers will need to have a BAC of less than 0.08 percent to be considered under the limit. Truck drivers, however, must stay below 0.04 percent if they want to avoid an arrest.

Need Help After a Truck Crash?

Unfortunately, these rules for commercial truck drivers can’t prevent every accident. Sadly, you might have already experienced a serious truck crash, and now you’re suffering. Worse, you believe the other driver is at fault, which can be confusing.

In these cases, you’ll need a San Diego 18-wheeler crash lawyer on your side. Because they’re on the job and have different expectations and rules, it can be tough to figure out whether they were at fault or not. Fortunately, your attorney should know the rules of the road. They’ll be able to help you determine the cause of your accident and get compensation for your accident.